Do you use a cart activity app to monitor your customer's browsing sessions? Sometimes the data collected from these apps can differ from what you see within Jilt. Let's take a look at how Jilt manages abandoned carts and orders.

ℹī¸ In this article:

  • What is an abandoned cart?
  • When are carts hidden in Jilt?

What is an abandoned cart? 🛒

First, it's important to understand how Jilt tracks your abandoned carts. Jilt considers a cart abandoned after it captures the customer's email and their cart has then been idle for 15 minutes. 

For Shopify stores, we capture the email once the customer fills out the field at checkout, along with the other customer info, and then submits the form by clicking the "Continue to shipping info" button.

For WooCommerce and Easy Digital Downloads stores, the email info is captured as soon as the email field has been filled out.

When are carts hidden in Jilt? 🙈

Jilt may hide a cart you expect to see in your dashboard. This is because we use an order grouping algorithm to ensure that we attempt to group carts across multiple devices for the same customer. 

For example, if a customer starts a shopping session on their mobile phone, but resumes on a desktop device, so long as we were able to identify the customer (using their email), we'll treat these as one "cart". This way, the customer only receives recovery emails for one of their shopping sessions.

We'll group carts for customers within a 5 day window. This way, if the customer completes a purchase in one of these shopping sessions, then recovery emails are skipped for all other browsing sessions we've grouped together, avoiding duplicate emails.

Note that this type of grouping can happen for carts started across any number of devices, since we send the cart data and perform the grouping in a centralized location. It's the magic of cart regeneration! 🎉 

What's Next?

Give us a shout if you still have questions about your abandoned order activity. We're happy to take a closer look. 🙂

Did this answer your question?