From time-to-time, you may need to individually opt in or unsubscribe a contact from your marketing emails. Contacts may also be activated or archived individually.

Opt-in

You can individually opt in contacts to receive your broadcast marketing emails by selecting Actions > Opt in on that contact's details screen. This action is individual because you should encourage contacts to opt in via a signup form. The opt in action will change the accepts marketing value to true for that contact.

Make sure that you have consent to opt-in any contact before changing this value!

If you need to update several contacts' "accepts marketing" value in bulk (let's say you had a hand-written signup form at an event), you can update these contacts in Jilt by importing a CSV file.

Unsubscribe

Contacts can unsubscribe from your emails at any time by clicking the "unsubscribe" link found at the bottom of all Jilt emails.

If you receive a request to unsubscribe a customer, you can individually unsubscribe a contact by selecting Actions > Unsubscribe on that contact's details screen.

Archive

The archive option is related to contact billing status in Jilt. Archived contacts cannot be sent emails and are excluded from your total active contacts. If you archive a contact, the contact may move back to active status automatically if they qualify for an order receipt or automation email.

example of an active contact and the associated actions

Activate

If a contact is currently archived, you can reactivate them by selecting Actions > Activate. A contact that is archived cannot be unsubscribed. To do so, please temporarily activate the contact, unsubscribe, and archive.

example of an archived contact and associated actions

How to edit a contact record:

  1. Go to the Contacts page in the Jilt dashboard.

  2. Select a contact to edit by clicking on the contact.

  3. Click the Actions button.

  4. Select Opt in, Archive/Activate, or Unsubscribe from the dropdown.

  5. Confirm or cancel the Opt in or Unsubscribe action in the modal to proceed. Archive/Activate does not require this step.

Related articles:

Did this answer your question?